Boland Athletics honoured our best Athletes, Coaches, Technical Officials, Administrators, Clubs, and sponsors, for their achievements and contribution from October 2021 to October 2022, at the 2022 Coca-Cola Boland Athletics 5-Star Achiever Awards Function at Drakenstein Correctional Services Centre in Paarl on Friday 2 December 2022.

The 5-Star Achiever Awards System is Boland Athletics’ way of celebrating excellence and honouring people who make a constructive contribution towards improving the standard of athletics in the Boland Province. National and International achievements of Athletes, Coaches, Officials and Administrators are honoured at 4-Star and 5-Star levels respectively at this auspicious Achiever Awards Function.
We are very grateful to Peninsula Beverages for their longstanding partnership with Boland Athletics in honouring the achievements of our members at the Coca-Cola Boland Athletics 5-Star Achievers Awards Function over many years.

The following Coaches and Athletes were rewarded as the top achievers of the 2021/2022 season:

1. Raymond Julius – Coach of The Year – Coach of Jonathan Ntutu, 2022 Commonwealth Games Gold Medalist.
2. Mire Reinstorf – Senior Women Athlete of The Year – Pole Vault Gold Medal at 2022 ASA Seniors and African

Track & Field Championships.

3. Jonathan Ntutu – Senior Men Athlete of The Year – 100m Gold Medal at 2022 Commonwealth Games.
4. Jayden Lewis – U20 Athlete of The Year – Men Long Jump – ASA 855 Points.
5. Barbara De Kock – U18 Athlete of The Year – Girls 400m Hurdles – ASA 950 Points.
6. Joshua Acker – U18 Athlete of The Year – Boys Shot Put – ASA 1000 Points.
7. Chris-Mari Nel – U16 Athlete of The Year – Girls Shot Put & Discus – ASA 1000 Points.
8. Jeerahno Jagers – U16 Athlete of The Year – Boys Long Jump – ASA 877 Points.

The following Athletes and Coaches received Special Awards:

1. Mire Reinstorf – Pole Vault Gold Medal at 2021 World Juniors Track & Field Championships.
2. Kyle Rademeyer – Pole Vault Bronze Medal at 2021 World Juniors Track & Field Championships.
3. JP Van As – Coach of Mire Reinstorf at 2021 World Juniors Track & Field Championships.
4. Louis Nienaber – Coach of Kyle Rademeyer at the 2021 World Juniors Track & Field Championships.
5. Freek Stander – Services to Boland Athletics and Boland Schools Athletics.
The President’s Award is presented to members who render exceptional service in the execution of the
duties at Boland Athletics over a period of time.

The following Persons received the President’s Awards in 2022:

1. Godfrey Hammers – Award presented Post Humously to the family of Godfrey Hammers, who passed away on 2 August 2021. He served Boland Athletics with distinction over a period of about 21 years in various capacities, as a Coach, Technical Official, and Team Manager (Provincial and International), served on the Athletics South Africa Board and was Boland Athletics Treasurer for 17 years.
2. Richard Stander – was recruited from Gauteng. He effectively became the first CEO of Boland Athletics And played a pivotal role in putting in place strategic technical plans and development programmes to propel Boland Athletics into the top 3 standings out of 17 Athletics Provinces in South Africa.
In the process, besides all the many Provincial, National, Inter-Continental, Commonwealth, and International medal winners, Boland Athletics is the only Province in South Africa that has produced six World Champions. Richard Stander also served as the CEO of Athletics South Africa from 2016 until his retirement in December 2020.

A special feature of the 2022 Coca-Cola Boland Athletics 5-Star Achiever Awards Function is that the top performing athletes in Track & Field and Cross Country in Boland.

Please help us spread the word:
Please support our sponsors: (click on the pic for more info)